YouTubeTuesday-Complex Love

I have been derelict in my posting duties.  My Thesis is due next week so all my effort has been in that direction.  I have most of it done and should be able to coast thru the last 25 pages or so.  

When we first got Binh, I was not immediately “in love” with him.  It was more like a fascination.  All effort was spent learning how to go about meeting his basic needs.  Binh is a quick study and adjusted very fast.  Now it’s time to focus more on loving him and building confidence.  We have a biological daughter; I know how to do that right…  I initially tried to love / hold / cuddle Binh like Ava but that was more than he could handle.  An analogy can be drawn with toys.  We tried to give Binh a simple toy just after we got him but he was more interested in a clear plastic cup.  Loving a child from an orphanage is a little like that.  Binh just needs to be held, no complications, no fancy toys…  I had it wrong, it’s my responsibility to teach him what love is and I now think that means starting with the plastic cup…. 

Binh likes playing pee-pie, we managed to catch him playing the other day.  What a blessing!

Ava at the 4H boothWe have some great photos from this weekend.  We went to a sheep sheering festival and made our first trip to a sit down restaraunt.  

  

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “YouTubeTuesday-Complex Love

  1. Ava & Binh's Uncle

    That’s a funny looking Sheep!
    It resembles a rabbit.

    See ya soon

  2. It just goes to show you that it does take ywo. Charlet writes wonderful things and Ashley completes it with wonderful pictures. Thank you Ashley. Love you, Jan

  3. by the way, I do spell 2 two not ywo.

  4. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Unburden.

  5. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Myrrh!

Leave a Reply

